5 new rules for color

As I go through and evaluate a folder I found of The Knot clippings I gathered a year ago, I found this editor’s letter of Carley Roney (The Knot editor in chief.)

She wrote:

1 no color clash

Gone are the days of separating black from navy and red from purple. We love mixing up alternative color couplings and even going tonal (blending varying shades of the same hue.)

2 not all makeup has to be neutral

Sure, you should look like yourself; but this is the one day when all eyes are on you – so make a statement! We’re not exactly recommending glitter. More like red lips or blue eyeshadow! Pick one feature and own it!

3 neon totally rocks

What was once reserved for ’80s costume legwear has now escalated intoa full-fledged fashion rend. Think lime green cake stands!

4 gray is the new black

This is the one time you can politely ignore advice from your elders- gray is anything but dreary. In fact it has turned into the “it” color of the year. (Think gray and yellow motifs)

5 a wild card is a must

Nothing stands out more than a singular pop of color. Consider a delicate, muted wedding palette – like champagne and ivory – throughout the decor, then wow the crowd by walking down the aisle with shocking pink peonies in hand.

Now I agree with everything except for part of number four. I agree that gray is the new black but I think the “it” color of the year has switched since the year I bought this magazine. From what I’ve seen in weddings this year, a garden green has been the “it” color of 2011. I’m not sure what the color of 2012 will be, but I wouldn’t be surprised to see a lot of black & white weddings mimicking Kim Kardashian’s.

Leave a Reply

